iCloud sign out and sign in

Created at: 2021-04-04 00:24:39
Questioner General

Why are all apps set to “use iCloud” when I sign out of iCloud and sign back in? A client of mine wasn’t using iCloud Photo, but when signing out of iCloud and signing back in, iCloud Photo was turned on and all photos were uploading to iCloud. Noticed other apps that weren’t using iCloud before sign off were using iCloud when signed back in to iCloud. Shouldn’t there at least be an option to “Retain iCloud settings on this device?” Option when signing in to iCloud? Seems like Apple is trying to monopolize cloud storage by forcing iCloud users to use iCloud for all apps on their iPhones.

Answer #1:

By: Emerson Jaskolski

Why are all apps set to “use iCloud” when I sign out of iCloud and sign back in? A client of mine wasn’t using iCloud Photo, but when signing out of iCloud and signing back in, iCloud Photo was turned on and all photos were uploading to iCloud. Noticed other apps that weren’t using iCloud before sign off were using iCloud when signed back in to iCloud. Shouldn’t there at least be an option to “Retain iCloud settings on this device?” Option when signing in to iCloud? Seems like Apple is trying to monopolize cloud storage by forcing iCloud users to use iCloud for all apps on their iPhones.

Answer #2:

By: Dr. Connie Johnson

Apple isn’t trying to monopolize anything, they’re hoping that once you begin using their devices that you might also be interested in using their services as well.

Answer #3:

By: Justus Bartell

I would like to make that decision for myself. Google Photo is a much better product than iCloud Photo, but if I log out of iCloud and log back in I am forced to use iCloud Photo also? Forcing me to use a service I don’t want is no way to build confidence in your services.

Answer #4:

By: Summer McGlynn Sr.

Then after signing back in, then simply turn off the respective services you don’t need or require.

Answer #5:

By: June Pacocha

Will turning off iCloud Photos then download the photos from the iPhone back to the iPhone and the photos from the iPad back to the iPad? If not, can you tell me how to make that happen? The photos on these two devices need to be managed separately. Why can’t you “simply” give us the option to preserve iCloud settings on a device when logging out of iCloud?